The Qualifiers for the Women’s EHF EURO 2020 start in May 2019 with the matches of the first phase being played in a tournament featuring four teams from 31 May to 2 June.

Finland, Greece, Luxembourg and Israel fight for first place at this tournament, as only the top rank secures qualification to the next phase.

The main Qualifiers will be played with seven groups of four teams each between September 2019 and May 2020. The top two teams of each group will join hosts Norway and Denmark at the final tournament.


Qualifiers Phase 1

Friday 31 May to Sunday 2 June 2019


Rounds 1 & 2

Wednesday 25 September to Sunday 29 September 2019

Rounds 3 & 4

Wednesday 25 to Sunday 29 March 2020

Round 5

Wednesday 27 May to Thursday 28 May 2020

Round 6

Sunday 31 May 2020. All matches will throw off at 16:00 hrs Vienna time.

Final tournament

Friday 4 December to Sunday 20 December 2020


Norway and Denmark have dominated European women’s handball since the first EHF EURO was in 1994, sharing between them 10 of the 13 gold medals available since. Denmark topped the podium in 1994, 1996 and 2002. Norway are the record winners with a total of seven titles from 1998, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2014 and 2016. Add to this one world (1997) and three Olympic golds (1996, 2000 and 2004) for Denmark as well as three World Championship titles (1999, 2011 and 2015) and two Olympic golds (2008 and 2012) for Norway, it becomes clear that these two countries stand for very successful women’s handball.

The two federations joined forces for the first time in 1999 when they co-hosted the World Championship and again in 2010 when they organised the EHF EURO together. EHF EURO 2010 ended with a 25:20 win for Norway against Sweden in the final and a spectator record for women’s handball at that time as 11,411 fans flocked to the then-called Messecenter in Herning to witness the semi-final between Norway and Denmark (29:19).

The Messecenter has now been called Jyske Bank Boxen for a number of years and is again one of the Danish venues chosen for the final tournament. In Norway, the Trondheim SPektrum is currently being built in Trondheim. The arena will open its gates for the Men’s EHF EURO 2020 and will then be used again for the women’s event – eight teams, two groups, will play their preliminary round matches in Trondheim. Norway’s main round group will be played in Stavanger. The final weekend will be played in the Telenor Arena in Norway’s capital, Oslo.