Russian women’s handball team has one of the best records of any of the nations competing at EHF EURO 2020. In 2001 Russia won the Women’s IHF World Championship in Italy and has since clinched this title three more times in a row – in 2005, 2007 and 2009, as well as winning bronze last year.

At European level, Russia won bronze at the EHF EURO 2000 in Romania and followed up with silver in 2006 and 2018 and another bronze in 2008 – although EURO gold has so far eluded the team.

Russia added Olympic silver in 2008 after being beaten by Norway in the final, but notched up eight consecutive wins at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games to win their first Olympic title. Daria Dmitrieva and Polina Kuznetsova were elected to the All-Star team and Anna Vyakhireva was MVP of the tournament.

After the Olympics in Rio the coaching staff made huge changes to the Russian national team’s squad. Several players retired or suspended their careers, but this did not prevent further success at European and world level in 2018 and 2019. Russia surely remains a significant threat at EHF EURO 2020.

Recent Team News

NEWS: The final episode of the special podcast series looks back at the final day of action at the Women's EHF EURO 2020

Read more

NEWS: Six nations are represented in this year's All-star Team, with four players picking up their first ever individual awards at a major...

Read more

NEWS: The leadership of the European Handball Federation and the Danish Handball Association sum up a very special Women’s EHF EURO 2020

Read more

Upcoming Matches


Anna Sedoykina is one of the most experienced players of the Russian team. She is 35 years old and has won a lot of trophies: she is nine-time champion of Russia, winner of the EHF Cup, Olympic champion 2016 in Rio, world champion 2009 and silver (2018) and bronze (2008) medalist at the Women’s EHF EURO.

During the 2016 Olympics she suffered a cruciate ligament injury and was out of handball for a long period. She made a comeback to the national team on the eve of the EURO 2018. Sedoykina is a confident player who has become an important part of the team. She was named best goalkeeper of the Russian championship in 2018/19. In 2020 Sedoykina transferred to Moscow club CSKA from Rostov-Don.



Centre back Daria Dmitrieva started playing handball in her home city but later moved to Volgograd where she played for local club, Dinamo-Sinara, winning three Russian Super League champion titles. In 2015 Dmitrieva went back to Tolyatti and signed a contract with Lada. Thereafter she won silver and bronze medals with her new team.

Dmitrieva has starred for the Russian national teams in a number of different age categories. In 2011 she won the W17 EHF EURO and later in 2013 claimed victory at the W19 EHF EURO. As a member of the senior team Dmitrieva participated in the 2014 and 2016 EHF EUROs and in the 2015 and 2017 women’s World Championship. In 2016 she won gold at the Olympic Games in Rio and was recognised as the best centre back of the tournament. In 2019 Dmitrieva moved to CSKA and became its first captain

Martin played for a number of Spanish clubs and won the Spanish championship, the EHF Cup Winners’ Cup, the EHF Super Cup and the EHF Champions League. He started as a coach in SD Itxako and won the EHF Cup in 2009. The most successful part of his coaching career was at Győri Audi ETO KC. Under his leadership the team topped the podium of the EHF Champions League in 2013, 2014, 2017 and 2018. Martín has received the Best Coach of the Champions League award four times. Almost at the same time, from 2016 to 2019, Ambros coached the Romanian national handball team. In summer 2018 Ambros Martín was appointed head coach of Rostov-Don. Under his management the team won the Russian championship, the Russian Cup and the Russian Super Cup and made it to the final match of the DELO WOMEN'S EHF FINAL4 in 2019.

Past Performance at EHF EURO Events

Year Event host Place/Medal
1994 Germany 6th place
1996 Denmark 7th place
1998 Netherlands 9th place
2000 Romania Bronze
2002 Denmark 4th place
2004 Hungary 4th place
2006 Sweden Silver
2008 FYR Macedonia Bronze
2010 Denmark/Norway 7th place
2012 Serbia 6th place
2014 Hungary/Croatia 14th place
2016 Sweden 7th place
2018 France Silver